Sloppy Something

I’m losing it. Here’s my most interesting interaction today.

 

Guy: Hey, I was told to come put money down today.

Me: Uh, well….for…I’m sorry, we don’t have any apartments. So…

Guy: For July?

Me: Nope. Nothing.

Guy: That’s weird. I talked to someone today and they said I should come in. Well what about for August?

Me: Nothing yet.

Guy: September?

Me: Nothing yet.

Guy: October?

Me: No, I don’t think we’ll know about that for a while. If you want to just put your name down, you can do that. I could call if something opens up.

Guy: That’s what I was trying to do. That’s what the guy I taked to said to do.

Me: Oh. Hm. Uh, I thought you said you wanted to put money down.

Guy: (shakes his head (yes he really shook his head at me!)) My name. I want to put my name down.

Smooth moves, me.

Sloppy Somethin’s

  • 1 package tempeh, crumbled.
  • 6 oz tomato sauce or tomato paste (I know they’re wildly different, and they’ll produce different results, but either is tasty, I promise)
  • 1/2 C water or vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1-2 tsp liquid smoke
  • 2 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1-2 Tbs maple syrup (depending on how sweet you want ‘em)
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (depending on how spicy you want ‘em)

Combine all above ingredients and allow tempeh to marinate overnight.

  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 medium sized green bell pepper
  • 1/2 C diced onion
  • 1 garlic clove, minced

Heat oil in a medium sized pot. Add bell pepper, onion, and garlic, and sautee about five minutes. Add marinated tempeh mixture and bring to just a boil. Reduce heat to low, simmer five minutes. Serve hot on toasty buns!

I served mine alongside eggplant bakes, because Alex and I couldn’t finish off the huge batch I made last night. Also, sad news, the bun in these pictures is the last of the buns. I might cry. Or I might make more buns tonight. Or I’ll just use the whole wheat bread I already made, Somer’s recipe over at Good Clean Food. It’s been working well as toast in the mornings, and I’m sure it’ll be fantastic for leftover sloppies over the weekend. That sounds gross. Leftover sloppies. Like I said, smooth move, me.  

See ya Sunday!

6 thoughts on “Sloppy Something

  1. Pingback: Sloppy Something | iatelunch: Vege Bun ~ Vege Food on Vege Bun, Vegetarian Bun, Veggie Bun, Vegan Bun, Vege Life Products, Vege Baking Buns, Vege Pastry Buns

  2. Yeah! Thanks for the shout out with the bread recipe! It defo would go well with sloppy goodness…. They can get married. Hehe ;)

  3. That’s funny, I mishear people all the time! Not sure if it’s because I have bad hearing or I’m just not paying attention… :)

Leave a Reply

