1-2-3-4-JFK-FDR!

Do you ever feel like you’re keeping busy to distract yourself from whatever you have going on…relationship woes, work frustration, money trouble….like you end up committing to way more than you usually would, so you can put off focusing on the actual thing you should focus on?

YES.

A thousand times yes.

I recently realized that I don’t have a clue what I’m doing with my life, other than like, in the morning I wake up and I brush my teeth and walk my dog and I go to work during the day and then I come home and watch New Girl at night (I’m super on New Girl’s junk right now).

So I answered a bunch of questions that Forbes says will help you figure out what the eff you want, and guess what I WANT TO BE A CHEF/OWN A RESTAURANT. I find that super unsettling and also not very surprising. It’s also super fucking terrifying, so no thank you, I will not be thinking about that for at least several months, possibly years.

So I’ve been distracting myself. Going dress shopping for adult prom for 8 hours. Baking 3 dozen cupcakes for a Super Bowl party. Binge watching New Girl.

The thing is, it’s very very easy to not think about this stuff when I’m at home. I like the shit I do on my own time. And I can always come up with a new distraction. But when I’m at work… I feel like all I do is sit around and stare at my computer and think about how much I don’t like what I’m doing. So how do you actualize a dream?

Gross.

Pretend I didn’t say that.

I definitely do not know the answer to that question.

Leave a Reply

